The Business of Writing

20140818-121335.jpgYou may have noticed that I’ve been posting more — not every day, but certainly more than once a month. I’m doing this for several reasons:

1) I’ve discovered that, even though I’m not teaching full time, my brain still thinks about writing…a lot.

Even if I’m not preparing to be in the classroom, I still read posts and think about news articles from a writing point of view. I’m constantly marking down potential topics of interest for authors, and wondering how this information may be relevant to specific genres or forms of writing. This is, in part, because I am a writer myself and a perpetual student.

Additionally, teachers don’t stop thinking about education just because the bell has rung. My mother, an influential teacher in my life, continued to prep for the year even in the summer. So, in a way, this blog is my replacement classroom. My place to talk about writing when I don’t have a course on the go.

2) By keeping blog posts (semi)regular, I find myself writing more.

The biggest benefit to a writing group or class is that it makes you think about writing much more than if you were going it alone. If you’re constantly thinking about writing, you’re more likely to do it.

3) I’m starting to focus on my business.

For years I’ve been doing a big of teaching (at times full time and at times ad hoc), while also doing some paid writing and editing work. Before moving to the UK, I was self-employed taking on a number of editorial and writing projects, but, since moving to Scotland, it’s all be a bit disassociated and piecemeal. Now the ultimate goal is to move back into freelance.

Things are now quite different in the world of content creation than they were ten years ago, and I’m glad. Blending teaching, editing and a writing career is expected these days, and it’s much easier as each branch of the business will support the other through online platforms.

With this in mind, a lot has been happening with this blog behind the scenes. I’ve developed a business plan, I’m in the process of updating my website to a self-hosted domain name, and I’m looking at ways to integrate teaching online, writing and freelance editing. Plus, I’ll still be posting on the blog.

You may be wondering why I’m bringing this up now? Wouldn’t it be better to have a grand launch to announce my new website and services?

Yes, if I were going for the ‘wow factor’. However, I’ve never been one for pomp and circumstance. Also, I am very aware that I’m not the only author wanting to diversify their options for writing employment. Therefore, as I go through this process, I will share with you some of the trials and tribulations of creating a business within the writing sector.

I’ve added a new ‘category’, which you’ll see to the left. It’s simply termed ‘Business of Writing’ and referring posts will be included in this section.

Furthermore, as this is a chance for us all the learn and share, if you have any questions or helpful suggestions about building your own writing business, please feel free to leave a comment.

 

This entry was posted in Business of Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Business of Writing

  1. Diane says:

    Good luck with it all Rachel. It’ll be interesting to watch you plough your way forward.

    Like

Leave a Reply

